Chupe de Mariscos (Seafood Chowder)

This past holiday season for me was a chance for redemption. I felt the need to make up for the 2012 season. I was so overwhelmed and busy that I did not get to enjoy the holidays at all, worst of all my kids noticed that I was not my best. I don’t even remember what I cooked which is a big deal because… well I love to cook! This year I took time for my self and my family and planned each menu with love. For NYE I stepped away from our traditional roasted pork and rice and opted for Seafood. The Menu consisted of Ceviche, Paella, Scallops and Chupe de Mariscos.

This recipe is my take on Peruvian Seafood Chowder. I love Peruvian food. Who am I kidding? I love food period! I hope that you love this dish as much as my family and guests did.

Ingredients: 

10 Cups of Chicken Broth

1 lb of Shrimp

1 lb of White fish cut  (I like to use Red Snapper but you can use whatever white fish you like)

3 medium-sized potatoes cubed

1/2 cup of chopped carrots (bite size)

1 tablespoon of minced garlic

1 small onion (chopped)

2 tablespoons of Sofrito

1 cup of sweet peas

1 cup of sweet corn

1 tablespoon of tomato paste

2 cans of evaporated milk

6 eggs – *tempered* – See below for instructions

2 tablespoons of Oregano

Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

1 teaspoon of Red Pepper Flakes

1/4 cup of Cilantro

2 tablespoons of butter

First you will set to boil the Chicken Stock. Salt the stock to taste. While this is going you will want to mince your garlic finely and chop your onion, potatoes, carrots and cilantro.

In a small pan you will melt the butter and saute the onions & garlic. Keep an eye on the garlic, do not let it burn.Image

Once the chicken stock boils add the sautéed onions. garlic. potatoes, carrots, tomato paste, oregano, pepper and sofrito.

Once the veggies are cooked through and soft you will add the fish and shrimp. Shrimp and Fish will take about 15 minutes to cook through. While this is happening you will want to start steaming the evaporated milk and tempering the eggs. (Instructions on this below). When the fish have been cooked halfway through you will add the milk with *tempered eggs, peas, corn and allow for the cooking process to be completed. Add more salt or pepper if needed.

Garnish with chopped cilantro!

Image

Buen Provecho!!

* Tempering an egg – To temper an egg, or multiple eggs, you need a large bowl and a whisk. Give the eggs a brief whisk in the bowl. Take your hot milk mixture and, working with just a few teaspoons at a time, pour it into the eggs as you whisk continuously. Adding the milk in this slowly prevents the eggs from being cooked instantly from exposure to heat. Keep adding the milk in very small increments until all of it has been added. Strain the egg mixture back into your saucepan, removing any bits of egg that might have gotten cooked, and proceed with your recipe as written.

Leave a Reply

